Quick Test of Google Drive

So with announcement of Google Drive out this week, I wandered over and pretty quickly got my account set-up.
As usual with Google this was a quick and painless process and while there are some differences with the present display of Google docs they’re not that different to be disorientating.

Because one of the benefits of enabling Google Drive has been the ability to sync with my various devices, I downloaded the PC app. Here I learnt a valuable lesson in my organisation (or lack thereof) of my Google doc account.

I’ve had an Google doc account from the days when it was originally Writely (yes, been mucking around for that long) but while collections have been around for sometime, I hadn’t done as much housekeeping as perhaps I should have done.

The nice thing about Google drive is that, if you choose Advanced set-up,  you can choose the collections which you wish to sync but it also syncs everything that you’ve got at the top level and not organised into collections. My google accounts mixes work and home stuff, so a quick pause of the sync process was necessary while I did some of that housekeeping that I’d been neglecting – including those original docs I wrote to test Writely!

With everything now properly organised I could confidently just select the relevant collections that I wanted to sync with my PC. In this case, it was my work collection. I find using Google docs for collaborative work with my colleagues really handy but am conscious that this work belongs to my employer and that they would rightfully be  worried if they couldn’t have access to it. Google drive creates a folder in the My Documents area and presents the collections as folders.  Inside the folders are, in effect, links to the Google docs I have in my Google Docs account. Double clicking on a relevant doc opened it directly in Chrome.

A quick trial of downloading a google doc didn’t download it directly into the relevant Google Drive folder on my PC. This might be a nice enhancement for future.

To help with working offline you need to follow the instructions at: https://support.google.com/drive/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=2375012&p=local_offline

This involves enabling Offline Docs (Beta of course) and ensuring you have Chrome installed as well Chrome Docs web app. This allows you to view your sync’d docs with offline in Chrome though you can’t edit Google docs only words, pdf docs that you have uploaded.

In terms of allowing offline access to the relevant docs for my institution I did a quick check of un-installing the PC app to see what happens, i.e. should I ever leave the institution and not want to potentially leave access to all my Google docs. The app uninstalls without any prompt about the implications for your documents. It also required me to close Chrome and Outlook.

Once uninstalled the Google drive folder remains with lost links to my google docs and not surprisingly the offline mode will only work with the PC Google drive app installed.

I like Google drive. Personally, I find the presentation online slightly neater than the standard Google docs view. Tying up the download of a Google doc to a sync’d drive would be really useful, as at present this would be the only way to ensure a local copy for my employer is available other passing ownership to another member of staff.

With 5GB to play around with that’s plenty for the time being. Privacy and cloud service issues aside, this gives me a quick easy and efficient way to get at my docs online and offline. Better local back-up options for docs generated in the cloud (to cover some of those privacy issues and loss of service issues) would be great long term but as this is still a very early beta product for Google, I look forward to seeing what comes later.

Leave a comment

Filed under collaboration, Social Networks, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

